Skip to main content

Tech Tuesdays 2019: Citation Tools

Citation tools

NoodleTools Login

NoodleTools

If you're an ICC student, you can use this for FREE! 

 

Registering for an Account


Log in screen for NoodleToolsIf you have NOT logged in before, you'll need to register. Click the blue bottom at the bottom of the login screen that says Register. If you are off campus, you'll need to get a school ID code from a librarian. Call us at 309-694-5355 or 309-690-6837, OR you can use the online chat to get a hold of us!

 

If you're a returning user and you're logging in for the first time during a new semester, you'll be prompted to update your profile. It just asks you to review your name, initials, institution, last 4 digits of your phone number, and expected year of graduation.

NoodleTools Tutorials 

 

Creating a New Project

Noodle Tools My Projects

Once you've logged in, you'll be on the Projects screen. 

Click the green box that says New project.

You'll then see this pop up:

Noodle Tools new project creating

Name your project, choose the citation style, and then, choose Advanced for your citation level. Regardless of whether or not you've used NoodleTools before, you will have so much more to choose from if you choose the Advanced option.

Adding Sources & Creating Citations

Noodle Tools Sources tab

To start generating your citations, find the Sources tab at the top of your NoodleTools page.

Then, click on the green New Source button.

New source - green button NoodleTools

3. You'll then need to choose the overall category that your source came from. 

Types of sources to choose from for your new source

If you're not sure, you can always check in with a librarian!

The next step is why it's a good idea to choose the advanced option from the start. You will be prompted to drill down even further--so if we know we got our source from one of the library databases, for example, we'll click Database, and this next table comes up:

Database drill down in NoodleTools

So when we chose Database, we were telling NoodleTools where we found our source. The colored boxes are so that we can tell it what the source is.

After you've clicked on what the source is, you will be taken to a form to fill out.

part one of citing a database article

For this example, I am going to use an article I found by going to Academic Search Complete and searching for "honey bees." To see the article's record and follow along, here is the link: Reduced density and visually complex apiaries reduce parasite load and promote honey production and overwintering survival in honey bees.

  • The first box to fill out is the DOI. So in this case, you'll use 10.1371/journal.pone.0216286.
  • Next: URL. In order for you instructor and your readers to be able to access the link, don't just copy and paste from the URL at the top--find the permalink. In most of the library's databases, that'll look like this: database article permalink iconand you can usually find it either over towards the right hand side or the top.
  • The name of the database in this case was Academic Search Complete.
  • We can find the accession number towards the bottom of the record details but before the full text of the article. In this case, it's 136596470.

Part two of a database article citation form

  • A whole list of authors is at the top of the record. If you have more than one author, you can easily add more by clicking add another contributor.
  • The article title should be typed out in sentence case--in other words, don't capitalize each word. Capitalize only the first word and proper nouns.
  • Pages doesn't necessarily mean how many pages the article is, but rather, the range of pages it covered in the publication. In our case, it is 1-16, but you might see something like 345-366, depending on the publication.

part 3 of filling out the form for a database article‚Äč

  • The name of the journal is NOT the same as the name of the database! Most are going to be easy--Journal of This, Journal of That--in this case, we have th Public Library of Science, which you can see in the record where it says Source. 
  • Also next to Source, you'll see the volume, issue, and date.

Finally, click the green Save button.

This takes you to your sources page, where you can copy that citation that you just made. It looks like this:

Database article citation

If you pasted in the permalink correctly, you can click View live web page to go to the article record.

Look over to the right to see some options:

Tags, Notecards, and other options

This is where you can add tags, see your notecards or create new notecards for a source, and choose from options including edit, edit annotation, copy, delete, in-text reference (super helpful!), and a place to submit a question to a citation expert.

 

 

Exporting to Word

Export your References to Word/Google Docs

1. Click on the project you want to create a references page for (if you're not already working within one).

2. Click on the Sources tab.

3. Click the dropdown option that says Print/Export.

4. Depending on whether you're writing your paper in Google Docs or Microsoft Word, choose the appropriate option.

5. Click to open the download at the bottom of your screen.

6. Save or copy and paste into another document and save.

See the image below for assistance.

Analysis of Sources

The Analysis button lets you see some statistics about the sources you've cited:

  • Style type
  • Total Number of Citations
  • Total Number of Note cards
  • Medium (i.e. Database, Website, Digital, Print etc.)
  • Type of resource (i.e. Audiovisual, Legal, Nonperiodical, Periodical, unpublished/other, Websites or e-Sources)
  • Currency (i.e. shows you a bar graph of the years of publication across your collection of sources)

This can be helpful to visualize how well balanced your references will end up being, or to visualize requirements you might need to meet--should your sources all be five years old or younger? Should you be using at least 1 or more print resource? Etc.