Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Assessment: Library Resource & Space Assessment

Overview

Assessment of Library Space and Resources via Surveys

The library has distributed surveys to both students and instructors in the past to assess the satisfaction and needs of each. This page uses a few different resources to show how users feel about our space and our resources.

Student awareness of resources

Student Survey Fall 2018 - Space

"Are you aware of the variety of spaces and available technologies in the library that promote studying through different learning? Please indicate which spaces with which you are familiar (select all that apply)."

Student awareness of resources

  • 45.83% - study carrels
  • 75.00% - group study rooms and tables
  • 87.50% - desktop computers
  • 54.17% - laptop computers
  • 29.17% - tablets
  • 41.67% - whiteboards
  • 75.00% - printing
  • 29.17% - assistive technology

Faculty satisfaction with resources 2018-2019

Faculty satisfaction with library resources 2018-2019

69.09% were either "very satisfied" or "satisfied." 25.45% were "neither satisfied nor dissatisfied." 5.46% were either "dissatisfied" or "very dissatisfied."

Faculty satisfaction with resources 2018-2019

Faculty's top 5 most frequently used databases 2018-2019

Faculty's top 5 most used databases

Popular Databases for Students

Popular databases available through ICC Library

Faculty satisfaction with space

Faculty satisfaction with space 2018-2019

Of those who visit the library in person:

74.1% are either "satisfied" or "very satisfied" with the library space they visit

1.85% are "neither satisfied nor dissatisfied;"

24.07% reported that they do not visit the library in person

Faculty satisfaction with space 2018-2019

Zero faculty answered that they were "dissatisfied" or "very dissatisfied" with the library space.

Student responses: variety

Student satisfaction with material variety

"Are the differing formats of library materials varied enough for what you need as a student?"

  • 96% yes
  • 4% no

100% of respondents were aware that the library offers over 100 databases.

How well informed do faculty feel re: library resources?

How well informed do faculty feel about library resources offered?

Student Satisfaction Fall 2018

Student satisfaction with technology, space, and databases

How faculty encourage their students to use library resources

How did faculty encourage students to use library resources 2018-2019?

How faculty encourage students to use library resources

Resources Assessment

Frequency of library material use for certain situations (2018-2019):

 

  • Daily: 
    • 3.92%: requiring students to use library resources for papers, projects, etc.
    • 1.96%: for professional development and/or to stay current in the field
  • Weekly:
    • 8.00%: to prepare a lesson
    • 12.00%: assigning reading materials to students
    • 7.84%: requiring students to use library resources for papers, projects, etc.
    • 7.84%: for professional development and/or to stay current in the field
  • Monthly:
    • 18.00%: to prepare a lesson
    • 18.00%: assigning reading materials to students
    • 19.61%: requiring students to use library resources for papers, projects, etc.
    • 17.65%: for professional development and/or to stay current in the field
  • Quarterly:
    • 18.00%: to prepare a lesson
    • 18.00%: assigning reading materials to students
    • 37.25%: requiring students to use library resources for papers, projects, etc.
    • 21.57%: for professional development and/or to stay current in the field
  • Never:
    • 56.00%: to prepare a lesson
    • 52.00%: assigning reading materials to students
    • 31.37%: requiring students to use library resources for papers, projects, etc.
    • 50.98%: for professional development and/or to stay current in the field

Reasons faculty visited the library in person 2018-2019

Top 5 reasons faculty visited the library in person 2018-2019

Faculty who used certain resources 2018-2019

faculty use of ebooks, print journals, and streaming media

Streaming Media

Streaming media collections

Academic Video Online

Is a comprehensive streaming media collection available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas.

American History in Video - Alexander Street Press

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history.

Archival Film & Newsreels Collection

Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.

Asian Film Online: Volume i

Asian Film Online: Volume I offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.

Asian Film Online: Volume ii

Asian Film Online: Volume II is the sequel to the ground-breaking Asian Film Online Series.

Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video is a collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.

Current Affairs in Video

Current Affairs in Video is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world.

Environmental Studies in Video

Environmental Studies in Video contains 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.

Films On Demand

Films on Demand is a streaming video platform, which features videos on a variety of subjects.

Kanopy

Kanopy offers access to more than 30,000 documentaries, movies, and educational videos from thousands of producers such as Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber and more.

Nursing Assistant Education in Video

Nursing Assistant Education in Video gives students and faculty access to Medcom-Trainex's highly-focused training program on the fundamentals of nursing assistance.

Nursing Education in Video

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.

Technical & Trade Education Video Collection

The titles in this collection will help prepare students interested in vocational trades, including construction, cosmetology, communication, agriculture, applied engineering, and more.

Today's Science

Today's Science bridges the gap between science taught in class and real-world discoveries - giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.

U.S. History in Context

Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

World History in Video-Alexander Street Press

is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.