Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off Campus Access to Databases
To use ICC Library Databases off campus, please sign-in using your ICC username and password.
ICC usernames are the first part of your ICC email address, without the @lab.icc.edu part.
Passwords are ICC (all capital letters) and the last five digitals of your social security number.
If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 or 309-690-6837 and we will be more than happy to assist you.
ICC doesn't have it?
Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:
I-Share is an Illinois wide catalog for physical materials. Request books, DVDs, etc. from other colleges and universities throughout Illinois.
For articles and physical materials not available through I-Share.
Abstracts are not articles. You should never site an abstract. Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself. You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article. This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.
What is a database?
- A database is a virtual collection of information.
- A database will search many journals at once with your search terms. When you search in a journal's website you are only searching that journal.
- This collected information is usually scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
- Each database offers a different set of collected information.
- Access to most databases is through subscription. You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC computer login and password.
Access Science - McGraw-Hill
The online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic book and journal information.
Science in Context
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals.
Today's Science bridges the gap between science taught in class and real-world discoveries - giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics, and technology.
Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines. These library databases have information for just about every topic. For a more in-depth database on your area of study see ICC's Electronic Resources Collection or ask a librarian.
Academic OneFile - Gale
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available.
ProQuest Research Library - ProQuest
The database includes more than 3,700 titles—over 2,500 in full text—from 1972 forward.
Gale in Context: College
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events.
Click the link below to search the collection of e-journals by subject. Search each e-journal using key terms and phrases.
Search using your citation information for an article that is not full-text or from a citation in the reference section.
Access to Nature journal articles from 1997 to one year ago.
Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.