Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Datasets and Statistics
1. Think about who might collect the data.
- Could it have been collected by a government agency?
- A nonprofit/nongovernmental organization?
- A private business or industry group?
- Academic researchers?
2. Look for publications that cite the dataset
- e.g. scholarly articles or government reports.
3. Once you know that what you want exists, it's time to hunt it down.
- Is it freely available on the web? Check Google—you never know!
- Or part of a package to which the library already subscribes?
- Is it something we can buy? (And is it within the library's budget and can the purchase be made quickly enough to fit your timeframe?)
- Can it be requested directly from the researcher? There’s a reason articles usually include author contact information
"Finding Data and Statistics." UC San Diego Library. n.d. Web. 08 Apr 2020.
Health Data & Statistics
International Narcotics Control Board
Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.
Kaiser Foundation State Health Facts
State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including Kaiser Family Foundation reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.
National Center for Health Statistics --Center for Disease Control (CDC)
"a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy."
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
Information from the NIMH including currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) Series - ICPSR
The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) series (formerly titled National Household Survey on Drug Abuse) is a major source of statistical information on the use of illicit drugs, alcohol, and tobacco and on mental health issues among members of the U.S. civilian, non-institutional population aged 12 or older.
UNICEF Child Health Data
UNICEF’s Data & Analytics (D&A) team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world
Multidisciplinary Data & Statistics
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Search the data collected by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development by topic or country including agriculture, health, energy, economy, education, and more.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
USA.gov - Data and Statistics
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
World Bank Data
Free and open access to global development data.