Skip to main content

Respiratory Therapy

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

Journal Databases

Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.

Here are some article databases that you may find useful:

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center is a multi-source database providing access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals. This database is very user-friendly!

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan (please see a librarian for more information). This is a great place to start your search for journal articles!

Academic OneFile

This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.

Nursing Reference Center

The Nursing Reference Center is a source used in hospitals and other treatment settings. It contains a wide array of materials including information about diseases/conditions, skills and procedures papers, drug information, and evidence-based patient education sheets.

 

 Science Direct

Science Direct is a comprehensive database with coverage of journals from all the sciences, including medicine, health science, and biology. Search hint: Once you are in the database click on the "Search" link on the top of the page. On this search page you can limit the Subject to "Nursing and Health Professionals" to help narrow your search to articles found in nursing and health related journals.

PubMed

PubMed is free to access and contains indexed entries for thousands of articles. Not all of the articles are available for free, but some may be found in CINAHL, and others we may be able to order via interlibrary loan. This is a good place to look for the broadest amount of sources and for information about drug trials.

 

Electronic Journals by Title

Below are direct links to some of the leading journals in the field of Respiratory Care. Check out the latest of editions or search within individual publications.

Respiratory Care ~ the official science journal of the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC). It is published monthly and has been in continuous publication since 1956. Articles in the journal pertain to disorders affecting the cardiorespiratory system and the equipment and devices developed in treating these disorders with an emphasis on improving patient care.

 

Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy ~ is published by the Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists four times a year. It represents the interests of respiratory therapists internationally.

Expert Review of Respiratory Medicine ~ provides commentary from international leaders in the fields of obstructive, restrictive, vascular and infectious respiratory diseases, bimonthly.