Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMS and EMT Library Resources: Articles in Databases

JEMS

JEMS has current news for EMTS and Paramedics, articles and links to great learning tools (many of which are scattered throughout this libguide). Keep up to date and watch the open positions page for exciting jobs in emergency response! This journal is available on line, or you can browse the copies at the library!

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

Journal Databases

Electronic versions of journal articles can be found within databases. These databases allow you to perform searches by subject terms, author, title, date of publication and other terms. Using these databases also ensure that you find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources that your instructors want you to use.

Here are some article databases that you may find useful:

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center is a multi-source database providing access to the full text of allied health journals. Journals in this database that may be of interest to EMT students include: Biosecurity and Bioterrorism, Critical Care, Critical Care Alert, Emergency Medicine Reports, and Trauma Reports.

Science Direct

Science Direct is a comprehensive database covering academic journals from all disciplines of science, including medicine. Journals in this database that may be of interest to EMT students include: American Journal of Emergency Medicine, Annals of Emergency Medicine, Burns: Journal of the International Society for Burn Injuries, Clinical Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Journal of Critical Care, Journal of Emergency Medicine, and Resuscitation.  

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL is a comprehesive database that covers more that 760 journals from a variety of disciplines, including emergency and trauma care. Many articles are available in full-text. Those that are not available full-text can usually be requested through interlibrary loan (please see a librarian for more information).

Academic OneFile

This is a more general database, but can be useful for finding journal and newspaper articles on broader topics. This can be especially useful to search for current events and trends.

 

Print Journals

The ICC Library subscribes to the print (paper) version of JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services). These issues can be found in the Peoria Campus Library. Here is a link to the catalog record to view our holdings: JEMS

You can search for JEMS articles in CINAHL. CINAHL does not have the full text available, but you can use the database to search for articles and then locate the full-text articles in our print collection.

When you are in CINAHL type JEMS into the Publication box under "Limit your Results" (scroll down below the search box):

Can't find an article?

Having a difficult time finding an article? Here are a few tips:

  • If you find too many results, try adding limits to your search. Try adding more terms to your search (e.g. "Type II Diabetes" instead of just "Diabetes") or limit by publication date.
  • If you are not finding enough results, consider broadening your search. Try taking away search terms or making your terms more general. Also consider if there are synonyms or other ways to search for the same idea, but in a different way. For example, if you are looking for information on "recuperation" you might also try "rehabilitation," or other related terms.

Our librarians are happy to help if you cannot find what you are looking for. Just stop by the reference desk, use the chat box, or call for more assistance.