Skip to main content

Sustainability Resources: Articles in Databases

Off Campus Access to Databases

To use ICC Library Databases off campus, please sign-in using your ICC username and password.

ICC usernames are the first part of your ICC email address, without the @lab.icc.edu part.

Passwords are ICC (all capital letters) and the last five digitals of your social security number. 

If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 or 309-690-6837 and we will be more than happy to assist you.

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

Abstracts

Abstracts are not articles.  You should never site an abstract.  Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself.  You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article.  This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.

What is a database?

What is a Library database?

  • A database is a virtual collection of information. This is where you will find articles.
  • A library database will search many journal articles with your search terms.  
  • Library database information includes scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
  • Each database offers a different set of collected information. Each library database you search will display different articles in your results.    
  • Access to most databases is through subscription meaning it is is not available on the open web.  You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC login.

GreenFile

Environmental Science Databases

These databases allow you to search for a articles on a topic related to art history .  You will need to use your ICC Computer login and password to access the databases.

Find all Science databases in the Databases & Articles link on the library webpage or using the link below.

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines.  These library databases have information for just about every topic.  For a more in-depth database on your area of study see ICC's Electronic Resources Collection or ask a librarian.