Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Quick Start to Research: Articles in Databases

Guiding you through the research process.

What is a database?

What is a Library database?

  • A database is a virtual collection of information. This is where you will find articles.
  • A library database will search many journal articles with your search terms.  
  • Library database information includes scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
  • Each database offers a different set of collected information. Each library database you search will display different articles in your results.    
  • Access to most databases is through subscription meaning it is is not available on the open web.  You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC login.

Off Campus Access to Databases

To use ICC Library Databases off campus, please sign-in using your ICC username and password.

ICC usernames are the first part of your ICC email address, without the @lab.icc.edu part.

Passwords are ICC (all capital letters) and the last five digitals of your social security number. 

If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 or 309-690-6837 and we will be more than happy to assist you.

Steps to Reading a Scientific Article

Do not read scientific articles like a book (first word to last word).

The worst way to read a scholarly articles is front to back. Scholarly article reading is very different from leisure reading. Follow these steps to take the mystery out of article reading.

Art of Reading a Journal Article

Background:

Reading scientific literature is mandatory for researchers. With an abundance of journal articles, it is essential to develop a method to choose and read the right articles.

Objective:

To outline a logical and orderly approach to reading a scientific manuscript. By breaking down the task into smaller, step-by-step components, one should be able to attain the skills to read a scientific article with ease.

Methods:

The reader should begin by reading the title, abstract and conclusions first. If a decision is made to read the entire article, the key elements of the article can be perused in a systematic manner effectively and efficiently. A cogent and organized method is presented to read articles published in scientific journals.

Conclusion:

One can read and appreciate a scientific manuscript if a systematic approach is followed in a simple and logical manner.

Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).

Types of Journal Articles

In general, scientific literature can be primary or secondary. Reports of original research form the “primary literature”, the “core” of scientific publications. These are the articles written to present findings on new scientific discoveries or describe earlier work to acknowledge it and place new findings in the proper perspective. “Secondary literature” includes review articles, books, editorials, practice guidelines, and other forms of publication in which original research information is reviewed.

Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).

Scientific Article Structure

Most scientific articles are organized as follows:

  1. Title: Topic and information about the authors.

  2. Abstract: Brief overview of the article.

  3. Introduction: Background information and statement of the research hypothesis.

  4. Methods: Details of how the study was conducted, procedures followed, instruments used and variables measured.

  5. Results: All the data of the study along with figures, tables and/or graphs.

  6. Discussion: The interpretation of the results and implications of the study.

  7. References/Bibliography: Citations of sources from where the information was obtained.

Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).

How to Start Reading an Article

It is better to begin by identifying the conclusions of the study by reading the title and the abstract.  If the article does not have an abstract, read the conclusions or the summary at the end of the article first. After reading the abstract or conclusions, if the reader deems it is interesting or useful, then the entire article can be read.

Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).

Questionnaire for Scientific Articles

Adapted from: Drs Sudha and Nageswara Rao Siddhartha. "Art of Reading a Journal Article." (2013).

Ask for assistance, if needed.

If you are having trouble understanding an article, ask for help from your instructor, your classmate, a tutor or a librarian.

Abstracts

Abstracts are not articles.  You should never site an abstract.  Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself.  You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article.  This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.

How to Find and Use the Databases

This video tutorial shows you how to navigate to the databases from the library website. 

This video tutorial goes over the different databases available and gives information about which database to search for your research. 

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines.  These databases have information for just about every topic.  For a more in-depth database on your area of study see ICC's Electronic Resources Collection or ask a librarian. 

Pro/Con Databases

These databases allow you to search for a topic and in many instances, it will provide articles that give both sides to the issue at hand.  You will need to use your ICC Computer login and password to access the databases.