Skip to main content

English Composition

A general guide to ICC Library resources to help students enrolled in any composition (ENG 110, ENG 111) class.

Global Issues in Context

If you are researching a global topic try our newest database: Global Issues in Context.

ICC doesn't have it?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

What is a database?

  • A database is a virtual collection of information.                          
  • A database will search many journals at once with your search terms.  When you search in a journal's website you are only searching that journal. 
  • This collected information is usually scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
  • Each database offers a different set of collected information.   
  • Access to most databases is through subscription.  You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC computer login and password.

Multi-Discipline Databases

Multi-discipline databases cover a wide variety of materials from different academic disciplines.  These databases have information for just about every topic.  For a more in-depth database on your area of study see ICC's Electronic Resources Collection or ask a librarian. 

Pro/Con Databases

These databases allow you to search for a topic and in many instances, it will provide articles that give both sides to the issue at hand.  You will need to use your ICC Computer login and password to access these databases.

Abstracts

Abstracts are not articles.  You should never site an abstract.  Abstracts are a summary of the article not the article itself.  You need to click on the "full text" link to access the article.  This full text may be html and/or pdf. If you have questions about accessing articles contact a librarian.