Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBTQ+ Rights Books
The Moral Defense of Homosexuality: Why Every Argument against Gay Rights Fails by Chris Meyers takes the reader on a careful, rational, sustained criticism of arguments about the immorality of homosexuality. Meyers refutes anti-gay arguments by showing that they are based on unreasonable or demonstrably false ideas about the nature of morality. Working through the morality arguments against homosexuality, Meyers shows how the nature of morality demands impartial, overriding reasons to act. He argues that morality is not grounded in visceral feelings of disgust, commands from the scriptures, or mysterious Platonic essences. In clear, convincing discussion, Meyers examines morality to promote the moral logic of granting rights to all people, no matter their sexual orientation.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015-05-14
The Path to Gay Rights: How Activism and Coming Out Changed Public Opinion by Building on recent breakthroughs in social and political psychology, the study introduces the theory of Affective Liberalization. This theory states that meeting and interacting with lesbians and gays in person---or by watching lesbian and gay characters via entertainment media---leads to more durable attitude change by subtly warming peoples’ subconscious reactions to lesbians and gays. Using expansive date-sets and cutting edge social science methods, the book finds that increased exposure to LGBTQ people, triggered by ACT-UP’s activism, provides a singular, compelling and complete explanation for the success of the LGBTQ movement in changing mass opinion.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018
Gay Rights at the Ballot Box by Since 1974, the LGBT movement has fought 146 anti-gay ballot initiatives sponsored by the Religious Right and has developed innovative strategies to oppose these measures. This book examines how the tactics of LGBT activists have evolved and unravels the complex relationship between ballot measure campaigns and the broader goals of the LGBT movement. This book measures, both those merely attempted and those successfully put before voters, this book draws on archival research and interviews with more than one hundred LGBT activists to provide a detailed account of the campaigns to stop such ballot measures from passing into law. As the book shows through in-depth case studies, although LGBT activists lost the vast majority of these fights, they also won significant statewide victories in Oregon in 1992 and Arizona in 2006, and local successes, including ones in Ypsilanti, Michigan, in 1998 and 2002. This book analyzes how LGBT activists constantly refined their campaign tactics in response to both victories and defeats. It also stresses that such campaigns have played both a complementary and contradictory role within the LGBT movement.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012
Queer (In)Justice: The criminalization of LGBT people in the United States by Draws on years of research, activism, and legal advocacy to present an examination of the gay experience, illustrating the continuing punishment of gay expression in the United States and illuminating strategies for change.
Call Number: KF 4754.5 .M64 2011 Peoria Library
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Other LGBTQ+ Books
Affirmation, Care Ethics, and LGBT Identity by In this book, Johnston argues that affirmation is not only encouragement or support, but also the primary mechanism we use to form our identities and create safe spaces. Using the work of feminist care ethics and the thinking of French philosopher Henri Bergson to examine responses to school bullying and abuses faced by LGBT older adults, he provides the theoretical analysis and practical tools LGBT people and their allies need to make all spaces, public and private, spaces in which we can live openly as members of the LGBT community. With its combination of philosophical theory and on-the-ground activist experience, this text will be useful to anyone interested in philosophy, women's and gender studies, psychology, aging, geriatrics, and LGBT activism.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-06-11
LGBT Youth in America's Schools by "Jason Cianciotto and Sean Cahill, experts on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender public policy advocacy, combine an accessible review of social science research with analyses of school practices and local, state, and federal laws that affect LGBT students. In addition, portraits of LGBT youth and their experiences with discrimination at school bring human faces to the issues the authors discuss."--Publisher's website
Call Number: LC2575 .C54 2012 East Peoria Library
Publication Date: 2012-04-19
Celebrating Difference by Celebrating Difference is an inspiring handbook for LGBT+ inclusion, aimed at all primary and secondary teachers and leaders. Written by Shaun Dellenty, internationally celebrated lead in LGBT+ inclusion in education, it is filled with practical advice to enable schools to bring about organisational change to ensure the safety, success, mental health and wellbeing of all pupils and staff.This ground-breaking book examines the roots and impact of identity-based prejudice in schools, drawing on Shaun's own experiences of homophobic bullying and his subsequent career as a teacher and school leader. The core of the book is based on Shaun's award-winning training programme Inclusion For All, endorsed by the Department for Education, presenting an effective approach to LGBT+ inclusion at a whole-school level. This includes practical strategies to eradicate prejudice, prevent bullying, embrace diversity and improve whole-school outcomes such as attendance and attainment, as well as mindfulness techniques and ideas for INSET training sessions and school assemblies.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Browse Kanopy's LGBTQ Cinema collection for films featuring LGBTQ+ stories.
Here are a few of the documentaries available featuring LGTBQ+ stories in ICC's streaming media & video databases.
I am the Queen
In Chicago's Humboldt Park neighborhood, the Vida/Sida Cacica Pageant brings together members of the Puerto Rican community to celebrate its transgender participants. I AM THE QUEEN follows Bianca, Julissa and Jolizza as they prepare for the pageant under the guidance of Ginger Valdez, an experienced transgender from the neighborhood. These trans women share stories of their transition, their relatives' varying reactions, and how they find support from within the community.
Between the Shades: Conversations About Being Gay in America
Fifty conversations exploring the many different shades of being "gay" in America. This conversation focuses on the degrees and varying perceptions about how people define themselves, their lives, struggles and triumphs.
Gender Revolution: A Journey with Katie Couric
Gender and sexuality can be fluid, and today transgender issues are altering the nature of day-to-day interactions. What do you do when your seven-year-old son announces that he wants to be a girl? Or your husband of 30 years announces that he wants to be a woman? Broadcasting legend Katie Couric (former co-host of NBC’s Today, CBS Evening News anchor and 60 Minutes correspondent) takes us on a unique journey to discover the dynamics and complexities of gender in our world. To better understand this complicated social and scientific issue, Couric crisscrossed the U.S. to talk with scientists, psychologists, surgeons, activists, authors and families to learn more about the role of genetics, brain chemistry and modern culture on gender fluidity. She also speaks with a number of ordinary people who find their bodies and their lives on the front line of a rapidly changing world.
Straight for Equality
"Straight for Equality provides information and resources that will help allies understand their role in supporting and advocating for LGBTQ+ people."
Out and Equal
"Out & Equal is the premier organization working exclusively on LGBTQ workplace equality. Through our worldwide programs, Fortune 500 partnerships and our annual Workplace Summit conference, we help LGBTQ people thrive and support organizations creating a culture of belonging for all."
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health - CDC
"These pages provide information and resources on some of the health issues and inequities affecting LGBT communities. Links to other information sources and resources are also provided. Some of this information is designed for members of the general public. Other information has been developed for health care providers, public health professionals, and public health students."
Gerber/Hart Library and Archives
"Gerber/Hart Library and Archives was founded in 1981 on the belief that knowledge is key to dispelling homophobia and the marginalization of sexual and gender minorities. Focused primarily on the Midwest, Gerber/Hart has grown to become one of the larger independent LGBTQ libraries and archives, containing a 27,000 volume circulating library, 600 periodicals, 700 newsletters, 150 archive collections (980 linear feet), 1,700 linear feet of Special Collections items, and four exhibition venues."
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history."
Terms for Researching
Examples of key terms to use while researching:
- Gay rights
- Queer theory
- Sex discrimination
- Equality rights
- Gay liberation movement
ICC Student Organization:
Understanding Individuality Through Education (UNITE)
The Purpose of UNITE is to provide a safe social atmosphere for the gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and allied (GLBTQA) people of Illinois Central College and the community incorporating nondiscrimination primarily on the basis of sexual orientation, but also race, color, religion, sex, gender identity, national origin, ancestry, age, marital status, disability, and military or veteran status.
"Peoria Proud encourages and supports diversity and equality throughout the Peoria Metropolitan Area. The coalition seeks to unify the community as a whole, through advocacy, education and social outreach. Peoria Proud envisions cities, towns, and communities where all segments of the Queer Community are welcomed and thriving."
Peoria Transgender Society
"Peoria TransGender Society (PTGS) exists as a catalyst for making friends, creating allies, exploring our inner visions, sharing information and support, and nurturing our true identities. A place for Peoria-area transgender people, by Peoria transgender people."
"Equality Illinois builds a better Illinois by advancing equal treatment and full acceptance of the LGBTQ community."
Human Rights Campaign
"By inspiring and engaging individuals and communities, the Human Rights Campaign strives to end discrimination against LGBTQ people and realize a world that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all. HRC envisions a world where lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer people are ensured equality and embraced as full members of society at home, at work and in every community."
GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love.