Skip to main content

British History

Related Guides

Websites

C.R.A.P. Test

Make sure you collect quality, reliable sources.

One way to evaluate information is with the C.R.A.P.TestAsk yourself questions about the sources' Currency, Reliability, Authority and Purpose/Point of View.

Use the C.R.A.P. Test to determine if your source is credible.

Search

Find additional research materials using one of these resources:

 

The Internet Archive:

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

http://www.archive.org/

 

HathiTrust:

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

The partners ensure the reliability and efficiency of the digital library by relying on community standards and best practices, developing policies and procedures to manage content and services at scale, and maintaining a modular, open infrastructure.

http://www.hathitrust.org/

 

Government Searching @ USA.gov :

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

http://www.usa.gov/index.shtml