Skip to main content

African American Studies

Not at ICC?

Consider requesting items not currently available at ICC through the following services:

ICC's databases on African American Studies

You will need to use your ICC username and password to access the electronic resources from off-campus.

ICC e-journals on African American Studies

You will need to use your ICC username and password to access the electronic resources from off-campus.

Search Tips

1. Use AND to combine terms

ex: African Americans AND history

2. Use OR to search related

terms, OR means more

ex: black OR African American

3. Use NOT to eliminate a term

ex: Bass NOT fish

 Some terms to try:

African American
African Americans - History.
African Americans - Social conditions.
Afro-Americans
Race Relations

AND, OR and NOT are called Boolean Operators.  These are the words you should use to combine your keyword search to get the best results for your topic.

What is a database?

  • A database is a virtual collection of information.                          
  • A database will search many journals at once with your search terms.  When you search in a journal's website you are only searching that journal. 
  • This collected information is usually scholarly articles, meaning it is written by experts and reviewed by a board of experts.
  • Each database offers a different set of collected information.   
  • Access to most databases is through subscription.  You will need to enter the database through the library's website. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to enter your ICC computer login and password.

 

You can search directly in the search widget below.