Skip to main content

Mobile Library Technologies: Medical Apps

Mobile Medical Applications

Nurses and other medical professionals are increasingly using mobile medical applications--programs that can be accessed easily on smartphones and tablets--to quickly find information in the treatment setting. Medical dictionaries, dosage calculators, and even evidence-based treatment plans can all be found in portable formats.

Note: Some of the resources listed can be accessed through the ICC Library's database subscriptions and are free to ICC students, staff, and faculty. Others are available for free or for low cost from other providers. Please note that due to differences in smartphones and tablets the library can only offer minimum assistance with questions about downloading or using apps, especially those that are not part of library subscriptions. Users are responsible for any costs associated with downloading or using apps.

Medical Apps available from ICC Library

CINAHL and Nursing Reference Center

EBSCO, which is the provider for CINAHL and Nursing Reference Center, has apps available for iPhone, Android, Blackberry, and Windows smartphones.

EBSCO mobile application features include:

  • Choose which databases to search
  • Limit results to full text or peer reviewed
  • Sort by relevance or date
  • Retrieve full text results in HTML and/or PDF formats
  • Save results for offline access at a later date
  • Email results to self or others
  • Retrieve their most recent 25 search results
  • Browse a “cover flow” display of search results

The EBSCO Host application allows you to search CINAHL, a comprehensive database with articles from respected nursing journals

The Nursing Reference Center app gives you access to evidence-based patient care sheets, drug guides, and information about thousands of medicals conditions.

     

How to get EBSCO smartphone applications:

To download the EBSCOhost app, access the EBSCO product you are interested in via a computer. Click the link at the bottom of any EBSCOhost page to email yourself the download instructions, access key and a link to the app store. The authorization codes are good for 9 months, at which point the user would need to reauthorize their phone.

Medical Apps available outside of ICC

The links listed below are for apps that are not purchased by the library, but that are free or low-cost and are trusted medical resources. Click on the link to be brought to a site where you can purchase/download these apps. Please note that this list is provided as a convenience to students. ICC Library does not endorse any specific mobile device, and cannot provide technical assistance with downloading or using apps.

Apple/Iphone

Epocrates

Epocrates is a free app with a useful drug guide, calculators, and other useful features. This is a often used and trusted resources for nurses and other health professionals.

Nursing Essentials

This app has a minimal cost (under $10.00) but contains a wealth of information for nurses. It provides updated reference information on drugs, infusions, and laboratory values, with information on medications, blood products, calculations, and PO, SQ, IM, and IO administration procedures.

MedCalc

This free app gives you access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications

Find a complete list of recommended iPhone apps for nurses and nursing students, click here


Android

Medscape

This is a free app version of the respected Medscape website. This app has a drug guide, information about diseases and diagnoses, and a collection of images and videos.

Speed Anatomy

This free interative app tests your knowledge of anatomy. This is a great resource to use when studying for an anatomy exam!

Mini Nurse Lite

This free app was specifically designed for nursing students. It has a medical dictionary, lab values, and other useful information for new students

Click here to find more recommended medical apps for Android devices