Skip to main content

The Book of Joy: Events

Events

OBOC Calendar of Events

Spring 2018

January 2018:

  • Wednesday, January 17, 11 am-1 pm – Welcome Days, “How Can I Bring Joy to Others?”, East Peoria Campus Library and Peoria Campus Library
  • Wednesday, January 24, noon -- TED Talk and Discussion, East Peoria Campus, Room 213A
  • Monday, January 29, noon – Book Discussion, East Peoria Campus, Room 212 C/D

February:

  • Wednesday, February 7, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, Peoria Campus, Room S220
  • Monday, February 12, noon-1 pm – Faculty Presentation: Cultivating Joy: The Path of Desmond Tutu and the Dalai Lama.  Stan Mendenhall, East Peoria Campus, Room 212 C/D
  • Wednesday, February 21, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, East Peoria Campus, Room 213A

March:

  • Tuesday, March 6, 12:30-1:30 pm – Faculty Presentation:  Happiness, Contemplation and Justice.  Aaron James, East Peoria Campus, Room 212 C/D
  • Wednesday, March 21, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, Peoria Campus, Room S220
  • Tuesday, March 27, 11 am-1 pm – “The Joy of Giving Back” Volunteer Fair, East Peoria Campus, Student Lounge

April:

  • Wednesday, April 4, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, East Peoria Campus, Room 213A
  • Tuesday, April 17, 11 am -1 pm – “The Joy of Coloring,” East Peoria Campus Cafeteria and Peoria Campus, Student Center Atrium
  • Wednesday, April 18, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, Peoria Campus, Room S220
  • Monday, April 30, noon-1 pm – Faculty Presentation: Yoga Anywhere.  Liz Burns, East Peoria Campus, Room 212 C/D

May:

  • Wednesday, May 2, noon – TED Talk and Discussion, East Peoria Campus, Room 213A 

TED Talks & Discussion

Do you want to get your students involved in One Book, One College events but can't make the events? Incorporate our series of TED Talks into your classroom.  Each month we are watching two TED Talks.  We will have discussion guides for each presentation.

This is a great way to get online students involved in the One Book,One College discussion. 

"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world." -From Ted.com

 

 

Loading ...