Skip to main content

About Us

Mission Statement

The library provides a people-centered, welcoming environment that offers access to outstanding resources and a knowledgeable staff to meet the evolving technological and information needs of the college community.

ICC Library Website

To access much of the information on the ICC Library webpage, you will need to know your computer login and password. These are what you use to log on to any campus computer.  If you do not know your login and password, please contact the Library's Reference Desk at 309-694-5355 or 309-690-6837 and we will be more than happy to assist you.

About Us

 

The Illinois Central College (ICC) Library consists of two campus locations: East Peoria Campus Library and Peoria Campus Library. It serves the residents of all or parts of ten counties in Central Illinois: Peoria, Tazewell, Woodford, Bureau, Logan, Marshall, Livingston, McLean, Stark, and Mason.

The original ICC Library on the interim campus in 1966-67 housed 3,000 paperbacks. They were not cataloged, they were simply listed by title. During that first year, students conducted their research at the local public libraries. By the second year, the library housed a total of 30,905 books listed in the catalog.

Today, ICC Library plays a key role in supporting the college faculty and students in their study and research on and off campus. In addition, the library services include library tours, student orientations, bibliographical training, scantron grading, copyright support, course reserves, interlibrary loan, etc. The Library provides its customers with a rich and varied collection and electronic resources. Subjects covered in depth include agriculture, medical and nursing study, general science, social science, language, business, education, and management etc. In addition to collections containing about 100,000 items, the library also subscribes to 148 print journal and certain local and online newspapers. ICC Library also offers 135 electronic databases including 326,963 holdings, 54,251 e-books, and 64,686 e-journals to all college users. Moreover, the Library collection also includes a selection of videotapes, DVDs, media or kits (slides and audiotapes), audio tapes, 35mm slide sets, films, films on demand (educational videos), and the equipment needed to access above media formats.

Since July 2004, ICC library became a member of CARLI group that "serves over 98% of Illinois higher education students, faculty and staff at 151 member institutions." The integrated library system, I-Share, serves 76 institutions, including Illinois Central College, and is powerful in broad searching and aids in efficient interlibrary sharing of collections. The library provides on-site, telephone, as well as web-based services. The library also reaches out to the community via Facebook, Twitter, Delicious, My InfoQuest, Wiki, and other social networks to facilitate communication with users while promoting our services. The satisfaction of college students and faculty is our primary goal.

Like Us

LTA

Reference Staff at Our Campuses

 

East Peoria Campus

 Bryan Clark

 309-694-5508

 bryan.clark@icc.edu

 Amy Glass

 309-694-5748

 amy.glass@icc.edu

 Cate Kaufman

 309-694-8504

 cathryne.kaufman@icc.edu

 Christina Norton

309-694-5355

 christina.norton@icc.edu

 

Banwart Library; Peoria Campus

 Jessica Bastian

 309-690-6961

 jessica.bastian@icc.edu

 Daniel Fuertges

 309-690-6958

 daniel.fuertges@icc.edu

 Katherine Orze

 309-690-6963

 katherine.orze@icc.edu

 Jim West

 309-690-6960

 james.west@icc.edu